• March 2010
    M T W T F S S
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Craven Maven is about..

    ..experiencing food and all that goes with it.
  • Who is the Craven Maven..?

  • Be a Locavore – what’s in Season?

    Locavore App for Iphone
    Download the Locavore App for iPhone to find out what produce is currently in season in your region. (created by enjoymentland).

The infamous big salad

Big salad

I love a big salad. The only thing I love more than eating a big salad is making one. While the big salad was brought to mainstream tv humour by the show Seinfeld, it has always been one of those meal items that make you feel good about gorging an inordinate amount of food into your mouth in one sitting.

If the big salad was an empire, it’s king would be Robert Cobb, creator of the Cobb salad, encompassing chicken, bacon, avocado, blue cheese crumbles, tomato, hard cooked egg, chive, watercress, romaine and iceberg lettuces. While I opt for ‘fake’ chicken and bacon to suit my veggie needs, part of the fun of making a cobb is mixing up the ingredients a little bit to make it something that suits your personal taste. But in the meantime, enjoy this ‘recipe‘ and salad history lesson by Kate in the Kitchen, who created the yummy salad above. Hopefully if you have a big Cobb this weekend, it will make you think of spring which is just around the corner!

image by kate in the kitchen

4 Responses

  1. The thought of a Cobb salad right now is making me hungry! I’ll have to try this recipe, though really, anything goes with making salads, just hold the anchovies for me! arr! Thank you for posting the all encompassing summer meal.

  2. Mmmmmmmm, mouthwatering! My sister and I are big “dinner salad” junkies. Love a chunky salad, very soul satisfying. In fact, I think I am going to have one for lunch.

  3. […] home made trail mix Feta & Spinach omlettes Stuff for a big salad Homemade ketchup Homemade pizza My fresh fruit greek yogurt parfait Bean salad Homemade brown sugar […]

Leave a comment