• September 2010
    M T W T F S S
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Craven Maven is about..

    ..experiencing food and all that goes with it.
  • Who is the Craven Maven..?

  • Be a Locavore – what’s in Season?

    Locavore App for Iphone
    Download the Locavore App for iPhone to find out what produce is currently in season in your region. (created by enjoymentland).

Stylin’ Food Stylist: Catrine Kelty

Catrine Kelty - Cauliflower

Sometimes I wonder if our background and surroundings have a powerful influence on the way we view food – literally. Clearly it has some bearings on our discriminating palette but what about presentation? Especially if it is our vocation. Consider the work of one Catrine Kelty.

Catrine Kelty - Clafoutis Tort

Born in Paris, raised in Montreal, and currently based in Boston, Ms. Kelty’s culinary still-life work showcases foods in an inviting, accessible way. The result of her continental upbringing? Possibly, but whether it is or not, there is a certain something about it that truly appeals and makes the mouth water.

 Catrine Kelty - Grilled Figsgrilled figs… be still my heart

 Catrine Kelty - Piegood ole good ole apple pie

Catrine Kelty - CollanderI don’t even like spaghetti but this picture makes me want it..

Thanks to Liz for this post inspiration!!
all images via catrine kelty

Practical Conceptualism: Mooko Sustainable Milk

Mooko vending milk design

Sometimes I think I am too much of a design snob, then I rather snobbishly excuse my snobbery for being totally justified. Like most, I really enjoy pleasing aesthetics and I get frustrated with poorly executed design or when something looks pretty but serves little to no purpose. Maybe I am just a sucker, cos goodness knows I’ve bought many a product based on packaging design alone.

One thing I never really thought I would be lauding the design praise of is Milk, that is until I encountered Mooko. Mooko is a concept organic line of dairy products designed to tackle the sustainability issues in the dairy industry. Designed by participants from the Academy of Art Institute, their aim is to reduce the waste and pollution caused by the dairy industry while presenting the consumer with a rather niftily designed package.

mooko productsproducts include milk and printed materials explaining the benefits of sustainability

I can’t say that ‘sustainability’ is the first thing I think of when I hear the words ‘dairy industry’. That being said, I grew up at a time when the milkman dropped off your milk needs every week and picked up your washed milk bottles for reuse. However today the supermarket refrigerators are filled with rows upon rows of paper and plastic cartons.

mooko vending machinevending machine concept

Mooko’s approach is to design a reusable bottle and milk vending machine. Placed outside supermarkets the vending machines offer a spot for consumers to refill their empty milk bottles. A novel idea to reduce the impact on natural resources and to minimize waste – but will it work? If it’s implemented time will tell..In an age where ‘green’ and ‘sustainability’ are going from being mere buzzwords to being the way many are choosing to live their life, I could see this doing rather well in some cities. Maybe not everywhere, but it would be a start. I for one think its an idea that definitely deserves a trial run and for us, the consumer to welcome it into our lives with an open mind.

Now if only they vended almond milk…

all images via design ignites change