Last Suppers

I have always wondered what I would choose as my last supper if I were an inmate on death row about to be executed. I don’t know which is more disturbing, that I have thought about it often, or that I can never satisfyingly conclude what taste I want to linger on my lips as my life ebbs away. One thing I am fairly certain of, is that I would probably chose some of my mum’s cooking – heaven knows that lady knows her way around a kitchen..and her chicken curry has had many of our Indian friends claiming it reminiscent of the stuff they grew up with. Yum.

james reynolds last supper donut

The idea of last suppers it seems has been on the minds of others, not just yours truly. Artist, James Reynolds has created { and I am hoping will continue to develop } a series titled ‘Last Supper’s, a series of photographs documenting former Death Row prisoners’ requests for their last meal before execution.

j reynolds last supper eggs

The choices are interesting to say the least – from the expected { a pack of cigarettes } to the absurd { a black olive } to the intriguing { a medley of fresh tropical fruit }. Nevertheless, the series is brilliant and makes me feel like I’ve shared a nod of ‘understanding’ with someone who no longer walks this earth.

james reynolds last supper fruits

Check out more from James’ project here.

all images via james reynolds

2 Responses

  1. What a disturbingly fascinating and unique concept! I never gave that one much thought. lol. I’d probably take chicken, mashed potatoes and peas please. lol.

Leave a Reply

