Ethically-aware: Chocs by Hipo Hyfrd

hipo hyfrd

I love good packaging a little more than the average gal. So much so that I’ve been known to buy totally useless foods/products based on the packaging alone.

When I saw this chocolate box by Cardiff based Hipo Hyfrd* my ‘ooh gimmie’ radar went off big time. It’s a box! With a hippo on it! Ridiculously adorable. But my respect levels for Hipo Hyfrd increased when I read a little bit about who they are and what they do and how they got there. The chocolatier, Gareth explains the frustration and struggle that came with developing a product to be proud of and the company has a strong ethical policy as well as farmers market presence.

Oh and did I mention the chocolates are Vegan? Good for the world and for your tummy inside and out; that’s the sort of treats I like in my life. If that wasn’t enough the array of truffle flavours is mind-bending: rose petal, hemp, ginger, chilli…to name a few! I’m off to find out if they ship to the USA!

*Hipo Hyfrd is Welsh for lovely hippo!

Leave a Reply

