Potato, Kale and Tempeh soup to keep the cold at bay

potato kale tempeh soup

Dear readers, it’s cold. Plain and simple.

Today my hands froze in the car before I had the chance to turn on the heat..is it just me, or is this really the winter of our discontent? Sheesh. Thank goodness for soup..my sister { a carnivore } was regaling me with tales of the chicken, potato and spinach soup that she was going to make and boy did it make my mouth water. Surely I must have equally good ingredients in house to make something similar I thought…enter Potato, kale and tempeh soup!

I never measure stuff when I cook..so all quantities are approximations. But with soup you can’t go that much wrong!

Ingredients:

+ 1 cup tempeh, diced
+ 2 tablespoons of Olive oil
+ 1 shallot onion chopped
+ 2 garlic cloves crushed then chopped
+ 2-3 slices of fresh ginger
+ 1 bunch Kale (about 1/2 pound)
+ 5-6 Fingerling potatoes, peeled, chopped about 1/2 inch thick
+ 1 cup of sweetcorn
+ 2 cups of Vegetable broth { I cheat and use Oxo Veggie cubes to make this }
+ salt, pepper and oregano to taste

Directions:

Peel, wash and chop the potatos – place into a pot filled with 6 cups of boiling water. Boil potatoes until they are soft in the middle but not mushy.
In a heavy bottomed pot heat the olive oil and add the diced tempeh.
Brown the tempeh and reduce heat.
Add the chopped garlic, onions and ginger. Cook until the onions become slightly translucent.
Strain the water from the potatoes over the tempeh, garlic, ginger and onions.
Let the water come to a simmer then add the vegetable broth, salt, pepper, oregano and kale { you can either chop the kale or tear it with your hands }.
Allow to simmer for 5 mins then add the sweetcorn.
Cover pot and allow the medley of ingredients to come into their own, stirring occasionally. If more water is needed, top up with hot water.

If you try it this weekend let me know what you think!


image via chefinyou.com

4 Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by William Brinson and William Brinson. William Brinson said: ohh! THX!! RT @cravenmavenblog: Potato, Kale and Tempeh soup to keep the cold at bay for @williambrinson http://wp.me/ppxZe-11I […]

  2. I am going to try making this today!

  3. […] I made this kale, potato, tempeh and corn soup dreamed up by Craven Maven, and it was delicious. And super-easy to make. I forgot to buy vegetable broth at the store, so I […]

Leave a Reply

