Good enough to eat…Tory Burch Vs. Raspberry Blancmange

tory burch sping 2011 rtw  vs rasberry rose blancmange

Growing up, I used to bury my nose in books like The Famous Five, Secret Seven, Just William and the Malory Towers adventures. Tales of adventures, mischief and blancmange inevitably unravelled. I used to day dream about eating blancmange while solving crimes and other mysteries..ah childhood.

Therefore when I saw this gorgeous dress from Tory Burch’s Spring 2011 RTW collection, I found myself filled with nostalgia, excitement and my tongue tingling with the phantom taste of blancmange. I think it has something to do with the cascading soft pink fabric top with a definite geometric berry shade pattern along the neckline. Compare it to the rose and raspberry blancmange pictured…coincidence much? I think not.

Blancmange is not too dissimilar to panna cotta in texture and taste, but made in a decorative jelly mould. As in the case with the one pictured, adding a layer of berry blancmange makes it all the more beautiful and yummy. The ribbing in this blancmange softly mimic the folds in the skirt of the Tory Burch dress, while the geometric pattern also nods to the jelly mould shape.

I would wear this dress in a heart beat..and equally as fast make the blancmange. Let me know if you try either!


image via ny mag and homes and garden magazine.

2 Responses

  1. I just love how you can associate one thing with the other. On this side of the world I used to read daydream I was like Nancy Drew! We were probably day dreaming together. 😀 That dessert looks scrumptious!

Leave a Reply

