What’s cooking my *blogships?

I’m was stricken with flu last week *cue dramatic collapse onto my fainting couch*, except it wasn’t quite that refined. I will spare you the gory details, but I am much better now – thanks for asking. Last week, some of my favourite food focused posts on the interweb included a soup recipe that should kill any cold and a potato that made me want to lick my screen. Seriously. Enjoy:

john midgley mast bros

blogroll category:designy & foodie
blog name/url: remedy quarterly
blogger:
post i loved: issue 3: growing up is here!

RQ is an independently published magazine of food stories with recipes that might cure any and everything that ails you. Issue three just dropped and features photography by Michael Harlan Turkell as well as a graphic recipe for Thai ginger drink. I especially love the ‘remedy’ page on RQ’s blog, as it reminds me of my childhood when my mum would whip up some soup/tea/concoction to get rid of colds, mumps or whatever. I am paticularly intrigued about this Sopa de Aja recipe to ease the common cold.

kami mug and tray

blogroll category: designy / design housewares
blog name/url: kitka
blogger: juli & john
post i loved: tea time

I have always found things made from wood exceptionally beautiful, so you can imagine how breathless I was when I spied this tray and mug on the Kitka design blog. The wooden tray is from Mjolk’s recent Masanori Oji exhibition and is made from Japanese Walnut; the mug is available in store for $75. The natural lines and variations in tone make these items unique, textured and quite simply beautiful. However, what I love most is that John and Juli take time for tea every day which has been a ritual i’ve followed for years. I always brew a pot get out my favourite mug and nibble on my baked invention of the week. Divine!

Twice Baked Potatoes by Matt Armendariz

blogroll category: foodie
blog name/url: devour: the cooking channel blog
blogger: matt armendariz
post i loved: matt’s twice baked potatoes

There are several very particular reasons why I loved Matt’s post last week:

– During the years when I learned German ‘Zwieback’ or ‘ZweiBack’ was one of my most favourite words.
– My sister and I used to be baked potato fiends when I was a teen and our potatoes got more and more elaborately topped as we tried to out-do each other.
– Matt said that vegetarian Mexican chorizo exists. Which I didn’t know and will subsequently gorge on.
– This picture makes me want to lick my screen. Seriously.

chef john turkey meatballs

blogroll category: foodie
blog name/url: food wishes
blogger: the adorable chef john!
post i loved: Turkey Cocktail Meatballs with Orange Cranberry Glaze – A Holiday Take on One of the Most Absurd Appetizers Ever

I love Chef John’s weekly granting of foodwishes.. and this past week his recipe for Turkey Cocktail meatballs with Orange Cranberry Glaze nearly shook me off my vegetarian pedestal. It. Looks. Like. It. Tastes. Like. Dreams. When I told him so he replied that he had a “a confirmed and documented vegetarian conversion to his credit.” That Chef John…he’s a dangerous man I tell yah!


*blogships is a rip on an email I got that opened with ‘ what’s cooking my friendships?’
all images via the respective blogs mentioned

2 Responses

  1. Made the meatballs for Susan’s birthday and they were fantastic. I think someone even licked the pan 🙂 Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

