Kitchen Envy: I heart Ikea

ikea kitchen

Earlier this week I mentioned somewhere on this blog that I love Ikea, in large part because { almost } everyone has something from Ikea in their homes – and as such it makes this world seem a lot smaller, as though we live in one big village.

That being said, I haven’t always been a fan of the Ikea range of kitchens. ‘Sterile’ was the word that often came to mind when I saw them. Granted I can be accused of loving a flea market inspired vibe in the kitchen with an array of colours and objet’s but that’s just my aesthetic. So you would be right to be surprised that I squealed with delight when I came across these pictures of an Ikea kitchen / dining room via emma’s blogg. I absolutely LOVE how they have designed this space.

ikea kitchen

– The wall length picture ledges speak volumes to the photo-artist and art collector in me. I have a ridiculous amount of art and photographs knocking around my space. I believe art should be shown not stored and this idea of a clean cut way (uniformed frames and ledges) to incorporate it into the dining space is spiffy.

– Those huge brown lampshades are stellar – great lighting to show off the goods and wares at a dinner party. In of themselves they are a great features and add texture to the space.

– The wall of tiles creates a nice inclusion of yet another texture to the space. Personally I am a huge, HUGE fan of subway tiles..but the ones in the ikea kitchen and dining room fit the space well and remind me of grid paper (have I mentioned before that I am obsessed with grid paper??), so for that reason alone I ❤ it.

– In the kitchen, everything is exposed. Instead of the more common ‘open shelving’ we see in oh so many kitchens, the rail system holding pots, collanders, knives and the like is a functional feature. I for one hate rooting around in drawers and cupboard for what I need. Having them out is practical and at the same time a decorative element.

– How many colours do you see? The fact that this kitchen and space has so much ‘stuff’ out, keeping to the black, white, chrome and wood pallette prevents the space from looking cluttered.

I could actually go on and on, but that’s enough for now. Do you like this space? What do you like about it most?

images by ikea via emmas blogg

Leave a Reply

