What’s cooking my *blogships?

My blogships had a great foodie week last week. Check it out..

Daniel and Valeria from Hindsvik Kitchen redo

blogroll category: vintage housewares
blog name/url: hindsvik
blogger: daniel and valeria
post i loved: kitchen renovation: the series

Daniel and Valeria are taking us through the painstaking process of renovating their small kitchen. This current spate of posts from the lovely duo that is Hindsvik hit so many good points on my happy-meter its not even funny. There is a little bit of kitchen envy, a lot of interior reno envy and of course the anticipation of what a couple with a great eye for vintage and design are going to do.

I encourage you to follow along, because I am certain the end result is going to be smashing! Oh yes, and uhhh practical for cooking food. Lest I forget.

eggs at maialino with dwell

blogroll category: designy
blog name/url: dwell studio
blogger: sherry at dwell
post i loved: What We’re Eating: Maialino Breakfast

Seriously?! I can always rely on my dwell peeps to represent when it comes to getting the taste buds going. Last week was no exception. Sherry wrote a wonderful post with some mouth watering pictures from maialino in the Gramercy Park neighbourhood of NYC. The above shot is what got me…poached eggs on a bed of mixed veg and pecorino. I am going to dine at this restaurant solely based on this dish alone…ohhh I an taste it now.

canelle et vanille biccies

blogroll category: foodie
blog name/url: canelle et vanille
blogger: aran
post i loved: family business

Please welcome a new addition to the blog roll – canelle et vanille! Run by Aran an Basque expat who now calls Florida home. My goodness, the visual feasts on this blog are astounding, but one that especially touched my heart is the post ‘Family Business’. Pictures of Aran’s grandparents pastry shop with tiers upon tiers of perfectly shaped biscuits made my mind run on the local Italian family bakeries of Brooklyn. These bakeries are one thing I absolutely love about Brooklyn. Brimming with the hubub of familial employees, the warm smell of pine nuts and the friendly greeting of a familiar face. I love that.

coquette reminisces

blogroll category: fashiony
blog name/url: coquette and dove
blogger: kate
post i loved: { country mouse } on nights like this…

Over dinner I have fallen in love, had revelations, created lifelong friends, sung songs i’ve never sung again and then some. There is something about eating and chatting to the wee hours that creates a bond that is lifelong. To be honest some of the ‘friends’ i’ve made over dinner I only see every few years, but we have a connection that is like a knowing wink in a crowded room.

This past week dear kate aka Coquette and Dove waxed lyrical about what the above picture did to her on first sight, to quote:

This picture speaks to my soul. In actual words. As I scrolled across it in my reader, I stopped, my heart stopped and I sat silently looking at it, thinking that if I willed myself hard enough I could somehow step into the picture. Be there by that cool river, surrounded by friends & laughter.

I understood this feeling – the people I consider my most trusted, closest, reliable and loved live hundreds if not thousands of miles away. If we all could be transported to this unknown, somewhat unimaginable location for a night of dinner it would be divine. This picture made me dream and it made me salivate. The dinner table. Food, it draws us closer. Such a personal act of ingesting in such a public arena. Inhibitions are loosened and heartfelt truths revealed. Creating firm bonds of forever…such a great picture, such a great write up by coquette. What does this scene do for you?

*blogships is a rip on an email I got that opened with ‘ what’s cooking my friendships?’

all images from the respective blogs mentioned

4 Responses

  1. Thanks for another blog-up! Loved your take on the picture. I still keep looking at it, I feel like there is actual candle light glowing from it!

  2. That scene above…paradise with someone I love. It’s beautiful. I want to save it for my desktop.

Leave a Reply

