Drinks that make the summer say “ahhhh…”

ice mint tea

Oh summer. How I’ve learned to love thee.

I used to hate summer, until I moved to New York and was ‘schooled’ on what Winter is really all about. It made me long for the break of 3 months or so where the sun washed over my skin and engulfed me in its reassuring warmth. Now it’s crawling up my list of favourite seasons,(beaten out only by Autumn because I LOVE to layer my clothing in Autumn..best fashion season EVER!).

Another reason I love summer, is that it’s the time I experiment with home made libations. This summer I just can’t stop making Ginger Mint tea – bottling it in an ikea SLOM bottle, and serving it to my friends or self when thirsty.

It’s very simple to make:

Ingredients

30 fl oz of water
1/4 of ginger root ( About 2 oz )
4 tablespoons of homemade simple syrup
a handful of mint leaves
a tetley tea bag
ice

Directions

1. Bring the water to the boil while you peel and chop the ginger.
2. Add the ginger to the hot water and boil for about 5-10 minutes..depending on how gingery you want this brew to be.
3. In the last five minutes turn the heat down to a gentle simmer and add the mint leaves.
4. In the last two minutes add the *tea bag.
4. Turn of the heat, remove the tea bag and add simple syrup one spoon at a time while stirring the mixture. (I don’t like my drinks very sweet, if you do – just add more syrup..but it will lose that ‘refreshing’ quality).
5. Add a couple handfuls of ice and allow the mixture to cool (about 20 minutes).
6. Strain the mixture to get rid of the ginger chunks and mint leaves and then using a funnel, pour the tea mix into your bottle and store in the fridge to cool completely.
7. When chilled serve with lots of ice and fresh mint leaves.

* the tea bag step is OPTIONAL. Sometimes I omit it if I am laying off the caffine..if you like looseleaf tea you can substitute with a teaspoon of that at this point.

The sharpness of the ginger is breathtaking not to mention the menthol of the mint. Yum!

Have a great weekend dear hearts!

image via real simple

Leave a Reply

