Just can’t beet this..

Golden Beet goat cheese thyme dip

..well actually you can. As I kid I remember school dinners vividly – largely because for the most part, I actually LOVED them, but also because when there were things on the menu I hated, I hated them with a passion. Especially cooked beets. I really could never fathom why they were on the menu, I didn’t know ANY kid that ate them, ‘cept perhaps for that weird kid who had no friends and who had, in retrospect, a dubious home life.

The main reason I hated beetroot, was because it bled its colour all over whatever else was on your plate. I found it the height of veggie-rudeness and an invasion of the personal space of everything else on my plate (yeah, I wasn’t your *typical* kid..). So I protested and refused to eat them. It offended me, with its unsubtle nature.

Then a few months back I occasioned upon the ‘golden beet‘..I had never seen or heard of such a thing and for a moment wondered if it was the fodder of an April Fools day Joke. It was not.

So when I saw a recipe on C&D for Beet, Goat Cheese and thyme dip..I had to have a crack at it. Especially after finding golden beets at my local farmers market!

The ingredients are quite straightforward:

Roast beetroot, goat’s cheese and thyme dip

2 medium golden beets
About 175g of mild soft rindless goat’s cheese
Leaves from 4 sprigs of thyme
Cloves of garlic (or if you run out {!!!} a healthy teaspoon of crushed garlic
Extra-virgin olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

beetsngarlic

First clean and top n tail the beets..these ones were covered in soil so required a good scrub. Then collect your garlic and place all of the goods into an oven safe dish. Cover with foil and bake for an hour..(I highly recommend the Le Creuset roasters..I just got my hands on one and am finding every reason on earth to roast stuff!)

in the oven

Place the tightly foil wrapped roaster in the oven and bake for an hour at 200 degrees.

Cooked golden beets

Mmm look at these cooked beets! They smell heavenly and are soft all the way through the middle..look at how wonderfully golden they are, with amazing detailed lines. Peel the skin off the beets – it’s very easy at this stage. Then dice them…

Blend garlic thyme beets

Put the chopped beets into a blender (at this point you squeeze the garlic out of their skins and put in the blender), or if like me you overcooked the garlic (eeks), add a dollop of crushed garlic! Add the leaves of the 4 sprigs of thyme.

blend til smooth

Blend the mix until smooth. It will be a little rough looking but don’t worry…

goat cheese

Get your goat cheese..mmmmm.

add goat cheese to mix

Chop up the goat cheese and add it to the creamy beet and garlic mix. Sprinkle on some coarse salt and pepper – I prefer Australian pink salt…

blend smooth

Whizz Whizz Whizz in the blender until super smooth and creamy..

et voila

Pour into your favourite bowl and sprinkle on a few of the thyme leaves and you are done!

yummy on toast

I know it’s dip, but I couldn’t help but spread it on some fresh whole grain bread I recently picked up from the farmers market!! Give it a try this weekend and let me know how you like it!

all images using shakeitphoto for iphone

3 Responses

  1. Ooooh, you made it, it looks delicious. Hope you enjoyed it! x

  2. […] dish of Roasted beets and Horseradish Cream, for the Pure Green Organic Kitchen. This speaks to my love of golden beets, so you know I am bound to take a crack at this after visiting the farmers […]

Leave a Reply

