Etsy T-T-T-Tuesday : You say Chinoiserie, I say Chinoiser-what?

I was talking to a friend the other day – trying to define my interior design style/aesthetic/preference. You would think it would be easy – but my magpie like tendencies make it exteremely difficult. My final description was ‘curiosity shoppe’ a la Paul Smith..I love vintage, I loved lived in, but I also love MCM and avant garde. My eccentric tastes apparently fit my English Persona quite well… ::grumble::

But one thing I definitely do love is Chinoiserie – a French term, signifying “Chinese-esque” that became a popular style in the late 17th century.
My bedding is Chinoiserie but what about a little Asian floralcy in the kitchen? Behold!

Brooklyn Chinoiserie Platter

Brooklyn Chinoiserie Platter

What a lovely platter. It put me in the mind of Nymolle Pottery but with an Asian twist. MayLuk has a whole bunch of these platters for sale with a variety of designs. They are such a wonderfully whimsical addition to the dinner table. The one above is priced at $48 and is available here.

Tea Box

Tea Box

Time for tea anyone? This is an example of where Chinoiserie could go either way – whimsical and relevant or just plain Grannified. I love Nana, honest I do – but this tea box is all for me. From it’s delicate little elevated feet to its peaked top – the colour, the details – its so cute. And it’s $32 here.

Jumping Koi

Jumping Koi

This piece really caught my attention for the pure reason that it is an aesthetic that I see over and over again. It brings to mind things such as the pottery of Adler or something Wearstler would have in one of her projects. Wouldn’t this make an interesting centerpiece to the dinner table? It’s $125…but oh so worth it.

Containers

Storage Containers

I remember these from when I was a kid. They housed tea leaves, sugar, and similar small dry goods. If you have a very plain kitchen, these interesting tins could make an open shelf that much more decorative. The set are on sale for $30. Get it before it’s gone..

images courtesy of the respective etsy store mentioned

3 Responses

  1. love the koi!

  2. Nice pictures, love the stuff!

Leave a Reply

