I’m baaack!

NH Trees

And boy is it sweltering here! The weatherman said it would be 95 but feel like 100 degrees today! I had been contemplating working from the Monday office – but that wouldn’t be prudent. I am already missing the cool breezes by the lakeside in NH (pictured above).

My trip away was lovely – I highly recommend a break to New Hampshire – for the sprawling woods, the reassuring presence of mountains and the crystal clear lakes. I stayed with a couple of friends who are chefs so you can only imagine what a gastro-treat it was. En route we stopped at one of my faves – Panera Bread – but i resisted the medley of yummy pastries in favour of a healthy sandwich.

Once in NH we stopped by the Met coffee house – it was the local version of a Central Perk sort of thing with wifi, great molding and large windows.

NH eats

Fresh breakfasts of steel cut oats with farmers market berries and nuts were the treats we experienced in the morning, as well as home made french toast with a warm fruit compote medley..yum! Every meal was vegetarian and gluten free friendly! (Aren’t us NY’ers such fussy eaters??).

One of my favourite side treats for dinner was home made garlic bread..again with a gluten free bread option and a stop on the highway led to the purchase of some locally made jam from Schartner farms.

Bears, foxes, playful racoons were a daily occurence. But the best of all….? No cell phone service. I truly know I am on holiday when absolutely no one can reach me except upon a landline. I will fill you in on a few more treats from my trip as the week progresses…I want to say a BIG THANK YOU to all of the guest bloggers last week – I loved their posts and from the great feedback I’ve got already I see you did too!

all images by the cravenmaven using shakeitphoto for iphone

7 Responses

  1. Welcome back! Looks like you had one helluva scrumptious trip. That coffee is so pretty, and the berries…those pics are making me hungry!

  2. Wow, beautiful images…now why did you go on this trip again? ;D The great FOOD, right? haha. So tasty looking. Next year I definitely want to go, but watch it be in the middle of the desert. LOL!

    As a Ny’er, I don’t think I’m a fussy eater, but then again, it could be a whole different story in another state.

    Thanks for the post.

    • I think in NY we get easily spoiled as every type of food is at our disposal. When you step out of that and options are limited one could appear to be fussy…lol. But its great to embrace what is local – we had lots of great farm fresh eats when we were away!

  3. […] on holiday in New Hampshire, I had the pleasure of meeting the Vivian behind Dolce Vivian – a gluten free bakery. Now I […]

  4. yeah, i find myself irritated in places that don’t have calorie counts on the menu now…ny fussy eater alert!

Leave a Reply

