The Cooking Channel floats my boat..

…it really does. At least so far.

I am slowly but surely making my way through the roster of shows and have been thoroughly entertained, inspired and peckish! There is a very laid back ease to each of the shows, with presenters who are warm, friendly and make the deliciousness they are making look and sound like something totally do-able.

Last week I gave my opinion about four of the shows I’d watched and enjoyed, it was a mere coincedence that the presenters were all blokes. This week it’s the ladies turn..

French food at Home
Host: Laura Calder
Location: Canada via France
Premise: Author and chef Laura has a very calm demeanor that borders on shyness.The setting appears to be a studio kitchen but it is gently feminine with light colours and rustic touches (like that flour box and sugar container..with a scoop. A scoop!). I found her very relaxing to watch, with a gently delivery and quiet tone. Her technique was detailed and efficient.

She made the most gorgeous French looking tart seem so so simple to make – and it looked beautiful! I am fairly certain I am going to give it a try, perhaps with some farmer’s market apples..

I like Laura’s style of dress, though I cannot say it is MY style – she looked unoffensive ( I cannot stand the way martha stewart dresses..), like a nice-looking 30’something that you would expect to see on the street of any cosmopolitan city. Although Canadian, Laura has a delightful French lilt to her voice, possibly from living and work in France for many years, that makes it fun to listen to her speak – I was captivated. Totally.

Verdict: I like this show and can see it as a great ‘go-to’ reference for when I am looking for a dish to add some oomph to a dinner party. Not one for the DVR but mostly because my DVR list is a little overrun!

Anjum Anand

Host: Anjum Anand
Location: London
Premise: Food author and Londoner Anjum Anand goes to the home of someone who loves Indian food but hasn’t considered trying to make the dishes themselves. She shows just how simple it is to create classic Indian food meals with ease – and really it is ease!

But its more than just showing how to make the food, a jaunt to the supermarket elicits a lesson in how to pick ones produce properly. Knife skills in the kitchen teach the best way to skin a …well, Mango in this instance. These details, which amazingly pack into a half hour show without making it feel rushed, does more for the viewer than a printed page ever could.

Anjum talks with an authoritative air but with good reason – she whipped up a paneer so quickly I had to rewind my DVR to see if I’d missed something – I hadn’t. I found myself so excited watching this show, I love Indian food, and aside from curry had never entertained making other dishes myself..but this is all about to change!

Verdict: I am going to add this one to the DVR queue for certain.

rachel allen bake
Host: Rachel Allen
Location: UK
Premise: Rounding out this International affair of tv cooks and chefs is Dublin born Rachel Allen. I do love the Irish, and not just because I used to be a huge Father Ted fan many years ago. Surrounded by a small group of students, Rachel takes us step by step through the process of how to make sweet treats really very well.
Cookies, cake frosting, these are all things some of us take from granted, or worse still from a can. Rachel shows how to make all and more from scratch all the while coaxing us along with her warm tone.

Verdict: Maybe not one for the DVR queue for now, but that is by no means a reflection on the quality or lackthereof of the show. I really did find it informative and fun and will be checking in on Rachels new recipes and direction oft.

Keep your eyes on this blog for more cooking channel rambles next week!

all images from cookingchanneltv.com

Leave a Reply

