Kitchen Envy: Oh such envy..

Thanks to Coquette and Dove, I have been obsessed with this flat all week. I am sure you will agree it is with good reason – it’s studio living at it’s finest. Simple, great pieces, lots of light and subtle tasteful infusions of colour and pattern. If I ever lived in a studio there is no doubt that I would model it after this great European flat!

The kitchen might not look like anything special, but it follows the same principles mentioned above, and that is why I envy it.

Kitchen peek

– We all know how I feel about open shelving. This light bright kitchen has two open shelves filled with colourful containers of day to day items that are easy to reach. Teacups, teapots, coffee pots, teas and condiments – the ‘ordinary’ is put on display due to their gorgeous pattern and packaging. Its always a shame when great packaging is behind closed doors..with open shelves your daily essentials become decor.

Herb pot

– Every kitchen no matter how small can have a little green. I love this terracotta pot brimming with….not quite sure what herb that is! But its so convieniently located to be quickly snipped and popped into a dish cooking on the adjacent stove. Oh and that Philippe Starck juicer? Pure class..

Wide view of kitchen

– All in all the kitchen is quite simple. Plain drawer pulls and knobs, but there is beauty to the simplicity. I have always loved a black and white checkered floor. It reminds me of 1950’s Americana and of a time when things were ‘better’. Simple chrome/metallic elements such as the fridge, the stove and the utensil bar reflect the light and add a polish to the kitchen. Like a pair of nice earrings with a simple outfit. The black, white and silver are the perfect neutral palette to allow for the colourful packaging and cookbooks to sing.
Oh and do you see the reflection on the oven of the wood crates? A nice rustic element n’est ce pas?

Nook

– Now this I didn’t expect. A great use of space behind the kitchen door. A nook enough for cabinetry for storage (of those bulky items one inevitably has) and a chopping area all nicely accented with under cabinet lighting.

Stovetop details

– Finally a stove top of some of my favourite things, a Michael Graves teakettle, a Le Creuset Cocotte – kept on show for visual interest and practicality..

A carefully curated space and it shows well – I want to cook in this kitchen, eat in this kitchen, sigh…if you get a chance check out the whole flat, it is certainly worth a peek.

images by alvhem makleri & interior

4 Responses

  1. I have always enjoyed black and white design for almost any room in the house. It is a simple design that includes a contemporary feel. The open shelves also are a great way to display each unique packaging label. Great overall usage of the small kitchen space.

    • Oh I love open shelves in the kitchen sean! Unfortunately I have horrid panelling in my kitchen and don’t know if it is at all possible to mount a shelf on such a wall with no depth. 😦

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Chris Johnson, VP, craven maven. craven maven said: A kitchen I want to live in.. http://wp.me/ppxZe-x2 […]

  3. […] times I have praised the kitchen garden – a little herb pot or so here or there to keep the air fresh and be on hand to season […]

Leave a Reply

