What’s cooking my *blogships?

One thing about living in a popular city is the influx of visitors all year round. I love to tour friends and family around this crazy place I live, and especially love it when they like the food places I recommend (you should’ve seen my brothers face when he tried RICE’s rice and peas!). So last week, my posts were not the usual fare. Not to worry, for I am back for the most part anyways.

I’m not a fancy or fussy eater, but I like what I like. So last week, nieces in tow we ate in the Bronx Zoo restaurant, RICE, Le Pain Quotidien, COSI among others. Good nice light eats – except for the extortionate Bronx Zoo cafe! My favourite part had to be when my 10 year old niece read through the Le Pain menu and quizzed out loud ‘Where’s the Kids menu?!’ haha! Priceless.

Balthazar Bakery

blogroll category: foodie
blog name/url: pork and chocolate
blogger:
post i loved: balthazar bakery

It’s a little known fact that I don’t actually like eating out at restaurants much. I am a huge huge fan of home cooking and literally squeal like a school girl when I get invited over for a home cooked meal. That being said, the restaurants I like, I LOVE and Balthazar is one such place. I remember the first time I went to Balthazar with a friend, we scoffed a decent chunk of goodness from the menu, giggling in a gastro haze the whole time much to the amusement of our lovely waiter. The ever so dear Sherry of Pork and Chocolate wrote a lovely post last week about a special soup from Balthazar Bakery: chilled cucumber melon with a touch of goat cheese. It looks so delicious..I can’t wait to try it and giggle after each and every sip.

anchor cake

blogroll category: designy
blog name/url: dwellstudio
blogger: christiane lemieux
post i loved: cool cakes

There was a lovely post on the dwellstudio blog about aussie based Cake Occasions. They are the makers of a rather nifty looking Dwell Inspired cake – see it here. But what caught my eye was the above ‘bold wedding cake’ with a ships anchor from top to toe. I LOVE ship anchors and have done since I was a child..this is by far one of the kewlest cakes I’ve ever feasted my eyes on.

baddest damn outfit to go to dinner in

blogroll category: fashiony
blog name/url: coquette and dove
blogger: the lovely kate.
post i loved: { notes on style } window shopping…

Simply put. One day I will go out to dinner dressed like this. Tough, feminine and quite possibly dangerous..

Melbourne Lovin

blogroll category: mags
blog name/url: frankie
blogger: holly mccauley
post i loved: make me iconic

Last week Frankie mag, featured a lovely little Victoria, Australia venture called ‘make me iconic‘ their mission is to bring the unsung icons of the city to life and into people’s homes. At the same time aim to enlighten consumers by providing facts about the icons of the city and what makes them so special and unique. Check out their site for nice vintage icons on mugs, tea towels and other home goods.

Majollica at POSH Chicago

blogroll category: vintage housewares
blog name/url: tales of a junkaholic
blogger/owner: artemis
post/email/item i loved: sparkly japan!

The ever so lovely Artemis of tales of a junkaholic got engaged while on her trip to Japan! She is such a dear heart with great taste – I can’t wait to see how the wedding turns out. Congrats again Artemis!

*blogships is a rip on an email I got that opened with ‘ what’s cooking my friendships?’

all images from the respective blogs and sites mentioned

2 Responses

  1. Oh my lands, I can so see you in that outfit! It’s definitely an elegant ‘Saer’ dress! Thanks for the tip about the restaurants. 😀 One day I will have to throw down a home cooked meal and bring it your way. 😀

Leave a Reply

