Not THAT ‘big salad’ but MY big salad..

Craven Big Salad

It never ceases to amaze me how relevant Seinfeld is to day-to-day life even though it left the airways over a decade ago. A testimony to the cyclical nature of human behaviour no doubt. Which is why those of you who are fans of the show would likely get the reference in today’s blog post title and likely chuckled.

There are few things I love to eat more than MY big salad. MY big salad has been known to stop nosey co-workers in their tracks..wide-eyed staring co-workers, their mouths agape and brain drooling as I chow down on a crunch fest too big for the plate its hosted on. MY big salad has been known to make a lot of noise, MY big salad has been known to be an olfactive cocktail of delight. Not to boast..but seriously, it does taste pretty darn good.

Almost every time the ingredients change as it varies depending on my mood, fridge contents, and urgency of eating. The lack of hard and fast rules makes it an emotionally satisfying dish as well as a satiating one. One recent salad frenzy resulted in the above image, but the steps are usually the same.

1. I mix and wash arugula and baby spinach using in a pink salt bath..just cos..
2. There is something about the way mushrooms look like button noses that appeals to me.
3. Olive – Oh seasoned olives, one of my favourite sources of sodium and visual interest.
4. Plum tomatoes are my favourite to add to salads, mostly because I like their shape when I hold them.
5. Boiled eggs diced – a great source of protein and colour!
6. Ground flaxseed meal – I sprinkle this on oh so much stuff..it gives a nice rough feel to the salad greens. Texture, texture.
7. Sweetcorn. This was one of the few veggies I frequently ate as a child, its incorporation in my salads serves as gastro-nostalgia.
8. Vigorously mix the greens, toms, flax, mushrooms and olives in a bowl.
9. Add the egg and sweetcorn and gently fold in so as to not separate the yolks too much. Sprinkle in some feta cheese.
10. VOILA! Serve with a drizzle of your favourite dressing. I am currently digging Trader Joes vinegarette or feta cheese dressing. YUM!

What do you love to put in your salad??

2 Responses

  1. That salad sounds delicious, with just the right mix of veggies and proteins. My family jokes about that Seinfeld episode to this day…amazing how well so many of their jokes did. In the warmer months I can usually go for a big salad for my meals.

    • Oh I love Seinfeld. I seriously quote it about once a week. Mandelbaum! Mandelbaum! Lol

      I must say, I’ve never had a salad in the Winter. I just can’t bring myself to do it as it doesn’t warm or fill me at that time. Next year I will have to break that tradition..

Leave a Reply

