Harvest your ceiling..

Boskke ceiling planter

Such is the tagline of the Boskke, makers of conventional gardening tools and products for contemporary urban lifestyles. I hear it oft, the moan of urban dwellers about their lack of ‘green space’ No garden, no deck, not even a decent ledge in their home to keep a basil plant. My dear Liz of BrooklynHomeCompanion has started her own ‘hallway’ herb garden with the aid of lamps, but for me (who doesn’t even HAVE a hallway), that is not an option. So imagine my delight when I saw Boskke’s sky planter on my google reader last week?

Boskke Ceiling Planter

Using ceiling space to host plants,the skyplanter saves on the space most urban dwellers don’t have to spare. They are fit for a variety of ‘edible’ plants – parsley, mint, fennel even strawberry! One thing I was skeptical about is watering the darn things. Would water spill all over my floor, resulting in a slip and fall of epic proportions? But apparently there is a unique reservoir that feeds water gradually to the plant’s roots. I must say, the skyplanter looks pretty nifty – the thought of having a forest-y ceiling in my kitchen appeals, goodness knows it would be a darn sight better than the fluorescent ‘sun’ aka ‘bulb’ that bears down on me every day.

Boskke Ceiling Planter

The Skyplanter goes on sale in the US tomorrow – ranging from $25-$75 and made from stoneware ceramic ware. As of now, only the large size is available in black or white, the other sizes in white only. If you pick one up let me know what you think of it..I am adding it to my wishlist for sure.

**If you are in the NY area, check out Boskke at the ICFF at Jacob Javit’s through tomorrow!!**

all images from boskke

2 Responses

  1. That’s so cool! I have to get one to feed my basil addiction!

Leave a Reply

