Kitchen Envy: The celeb ‘chef’ kitchen

The Delicious Miss Dahl Kitchen

Ah, the celeb ‘chef’. A complex creature…actually no. No they are not. Quite often they leave you wondering, ‘erm, how and WHY do they have a show??’. That seems to be the sentiment about The Delicious Miss Dahl, a cooking programme in the UK hosted by Sophie Dahl no less. I for one have never seen the show, and to be honest, doubt it would be my cuppa, but one thing that DID catch my eye is the kitchen she uses. Interestingly the home in which the prog is shot is currently up for sale, boasting a palette a lot less exciting. The set designer for the show does a fabulous job in reimagining the kitchen to something a lot more whimsical and well..twee. Nevertheless, there are some elements of the tv kitchen and the real life kitchen, (both of which are the same kitchen with different decor), that I certainly do fancy!

The real kitchen - eat in
The real kitchen

– I know what you are going to say. Why does it look like a polar bear in a blizzard? Yes, I get it, the kitchen is very white. I find that aspect a bit much to be honest, but look again. A wonderfully raw wood island, infinite sources of natural light, and is that? No it can’t be, why yes, it’s an Aga! And we all know how I feel about Aga’s now don’t we? No? Well I love them. Muchly. These rustic elements give a sense of warmth and homliness to the space which is otherwise presented as very startk and ‘modern’ in colour at least.
Just looking at this picture I want to dine in this space – the bright sunshine streaming in during the day, and a candle lit garden glimmering in the background at night. It’s just plain lovely.

Kitchen Island
The real kitchen

– Here is a better angle of the kitchen from the POV of the dining table. All in all its not a very big kitchen but it appears to be very functional. That lovely sized apron fronted sink, lower open shelving and woodblock counter tops. It’s all nice but in need of a little something to give it that flea market chic vibe its just crying out for. Despite its ‘simplicity’ the space and layout makes me want to cook here!

Delicious Miss Detail
The tv kitchen – top
The real kitchen – bottom

– Here you see the differences between the tv kitchen and the real one. I am in LOVE with that green and gold wallpaper (if anyone knows where its from, please do share), and the colourful accent items, teapots, tins and what not make this space that much more fun. It is a little cluttered for my tastes but the direction is right – for me at least. The colour works well against the vast whiteness and the small herb garden around the sink is what my dreams are made of.

– In the real kitchen, the close up shows that the kitchen cabinets look quite erm, unprofessional. I could be wrong but they do not look like standard cabinetry at all. But I love it! It makes me think of an old French farm kitchen, built by the original owners and loved by its owners down through the decades. The wonderful subway tile pulls it back into this time period and gives the kitchen something for everyone, lovers of the old school and lovers of new.

If it was up to me I would take the above elements of the kitchen and create a third idea. Yes to the vintage wallpaper but no to the one lame open shelf above the sink. I would add more upper open shelving on both sides of the stove.

Yes to the open plan kitchen and dining but a big fat no to the expanse of white..the dining space is in dire need of some colour, whether that be to upholster the chair seats and place a runner on the table ..but just something.

Yes to the indoor herb garden and abundance of florals and colour – no to the clutter. It doesn’t have to be full to be interesting.

I would also add some comfy seating somewhere in there, a wingback or two would be stellar as would option stools to turn the wood island into a makeshift informal dining space. I would also consider introducing more textiles to the space via a rug and the option of voiles that could be completely open or not – to diffuse light.

As my best mate’s mum says, I wouldn’t give this space a ‘kick in the teeth’. I really do love it. But it would definitely need some tweaking to be mine, somewhere in the middle of the real kitchen and the tv kitchen.

images from Kfh.co.uk, the bbc, renaissance vintage

3 Responses

  1. Ooooh, good detective work, I’m impressed! I actually quite like the show. I expected to hate it, but was pleasantly surprised. The food she makes looks deeeeeeeeeee-licious and she gads about London buying pretty things and squeezing & sniffing all the food in the shops. I should hate it, but I love it! And that house?! So pretty. Although I agree with you about the kitchen, one version is too white, the other too chintzy and twee. somewhere In the middle would be just right!

  2. […] this post I wrote the other week about the kitchen Miss Dahl uses for her cooking show? Well the folks at the […]

Leave a Reply

