Yum Review: Fiore

Fiore

I am so behind in my yummy food reviews, which is a shocker as it’s not like I eat out THAT much..nonetheless I am putting some of my faves first. Starting with Fiore on Grand St in the Williamsburg section of Brooklyn. First of all, I am a sucker for ambience, and when I walked in I was immediately yet somewhat subtly reminded of the time I road-tripped North Italy and the places we ate in along the way. The decor was rustic, simple and charming. The waiter, deliciously accented…ah the Italian inflections!

But then there was the food. As a veggie, and feeling in the mood for some pasta pasta I had the hand made spaghetti with tomato and basil sauce. It was very very yum and definitely tasted home made. I can be very paticlar about my tomato sauce, I hate when it has the zing of being too tart or when it is over sweetened, but this was a lovely and delicate balance.

Calamari and Zucchini chips
Calametti Frizzi con zucchine croccanti

A friend of mine ordered the Calametti Frizzi con zucchine croccanti, thats right dear readers, calamari and zucchini chips/fries! While I didn’t touch the calamari the fried zucchini was incredibly moreish and not in the slightest bit greasy or overdone.

All in all, whether it was steak, pasta or seafood no one complained about their dish. The service was friendly and light and the space conducive to a medium sized group of friends getting together to eat, chat and enjoy in a comfy environment. I highly reccomend checking it out! Their menus can be found here.

all images from fiore

Leave a Reply

