What’s cooking my *blogships?

A little round up of what food based things my fave blogs were talking about last week. Check out my blogroll for other great blogs I read on a daily/weekly basis!

Scene from Charles and Ray Eames' Powers of Ten. Via the kitchn.

blogroll category: foodie
blog name/url: Brooklyn Home Companion
blogger: Elizabeth and Katie
posts i loved: Friday Home Economics Lesson and Noticed.

So I am choosing two posts from the Brooklyn Home Companion (BHC) site to show some love to this week and this is why. The ‘home economics’ post had an abundance of links to some great information for foodies. Particularly those of the political nature with an update on the Food Safety Bill debate in the senate and Detroit’s suitability for urban agriculture.

The second BHC post ‘noticed..‘ was a fave of mine, not least because it announced to the world that the BHC got a mention in the New York Times last week. Yep, THE NYT. I was and still am so chuffed for the lovely ladies of BHC and their obsession with dungarees (or Overalls as my American cousins like to call them), which garnered their mention!

Chocolate Pie Chart

blogroll category: designy
blog name/url: Kitsune Noir
blogger/article poster: Danica van de Velde
post i loved: Chocolate Editions by Mary and Mat

I think I could say absolutely nothing about this post and you would understand why I loved it from the picture alone, self confessed chocoholic that I am. Danica highlighted the work of Chocolate Editions by Mary and Matt..their products are “a celebration of the candy bar as a perfect pop object”, with chocolates engraved with tongue-in-cheek statements such as “Eat Me” and “Sweet Thing.” I am searching now to see if I can buy these treats in The States.

The Futureheads

blogroll category: fashiony
blog name/url: Effortless Anthropologie
blogger: Roxy
post i loved: Artist Interview: Ashley Longshore

A new Anthropologie opened in NYC this past week and Roxy had the pleasure to interview one of the artists whose work abounded in this new space. Ashley Longshore is a multi-medium talented artist, but of all her work shown my favourite were of course the latte bowls shown above. What started as a 300 hand-painted latte bowl artists’ series at the Chelsea Market Anthropologie, grew into a 3000 plus production with Ms. Longshore being flown into Portugal to finish the bowls at the source. A great story and a lovely interview with a talented lady who it seems Anthro hasn’t seen the last of yet!

The Futureheads

blogroll category: mags
blog name/url: Amelia’s Magazine
blogger: Ian Steadman
post i loved: The Futureheads – Interview

A few years ago I ‘accidently on purpose’ ran into The Futureheads on a street corner in The Lower East Side. They were a bunch of top notch guys who just so happen to play in a brilliant band. If you, like me, have a playlist for when you are in the kitchen I highly reccomend you add The Futureheads to it. If you live in North America look out for them on tour!

Outdoor picnic

blogroll category: vintage housewares
blog name: Tales of a Junkaholic
blogger: Artemis
post i loved: Homework

Wow – check out that lovely lunch above featured this week on Tales of a Junkaholic. Steamed potatoes and chives enjoyed on the lawn and in the warm sun of one’s back garden? I think I am living in the wrong place!

*blogships is a rip on an email I got that opened with ‘ what’s cooking my friendships?’

all images from the respective blogs mentioned

3 Responses

  1. The chocolate pie chart is pure genius. I’d buy 50 of them if I knew what to do with 50 slice-of-pie shaped pieces of white chocolate…

  2. Fantastic site, I had not noticed cravenmaven.wordpress.com previously in my searches!
    Continue the wonderful work!

  3. Haha ^^ nice, is there a section to follow the RSS feed

Leave a Reply

