Etsy T-T-T-Tuesday: the elephant in the corner of the room..

It’s that time again ladies and gents, yes, I refer to ‘Etsy Tuesday’. In today’s hunt for all good things for the kitchen and dining delights of the home, we have a first. All the items in todays post come from one store – White Elephant Vintage. I came across this store, run by Hollie Pocsai and Jane LaBatte, via one of those ‘click sessions’ as I like to call it. You know the type, when you read a great post on a great blog you love, and you click someones name which leads to their site, which leads to a post/pic of something you love and you check the source of that and click that then find yourself on an etsy page or somesuch. Forgetting of course, how you got there. I think in this case Coquette & Dove was somehow the jumping off point but I am not sure..sigh.

Anywho, if you get a chance, check out the story behind white elephant vintage, it’s rather sweet. But if you don’t have time, just shop their shop..I am sure you won’t regret it..

Trafalgar Square Tin

Trafalgar Square Tin

I love biscuit tins. I just plain love containers, but biscuit tins really take the…erm biscuit? This one has a great photo of trafalgar square on the top and sides!! It’s so very detailed. Although due to age this tin has a little rust inside, its a simple quick fix to line the box with wrapping paper or wax paper and load it up with your home made biscuits. If you need an idea for a recipe why not try the brown sugar biscuits of trotski and ash? Serve them in the box at your next ‘Lost Screening’ or tea party! More details can be found here. Oh, and it is only $28 bucks!

Nutritional Educational Poster - Double Sided

Nutritional Educational Poster – Double Sided

I am a fan of nutrition and while I don’t DO all the right things, I believe it is important that one knows whats good and whats not..especially with the amount of chemicals that is pretty much everything you pick up in the store or restaurants (trust me I know, I used to work at a flavours company…). But how about making nutrition retro?? This vintage educational poster does just that! While I am NOT a fan of ‘kitcheny’ art in the kitchen, this poster has enough old school to make it more a piece of art than just another ‘buck toothed turnip on the wall’. Meh.
This educational school poster is huge, featuring the Four Basic Food Groups on one side, and Physical Fitness Through Exercise on the other. It doesn’t come cheap though, at $150…view it as ‘art’ not just function.. Get it here.

Juice Carafe

Juice Carafe

I want to get into the routine of having fresh squeezed juice in the morning. Apple and celery juice is one of my faves, and its good for your intestines. Alas, I am still searching for a juicer and waiting for a sale, any sale! In the meantime, I can but dream of filling this vintage carafe with juice every morning. It’s $30 and avail here.

Kitchen Chopper

Kitchen Chopper

I remember watching ads for modern day kitchen choppers and being all, mouth open and wide eyed. I have no idea why…lol. But it is that memory that drew me to this lovely old kitchen chopper! I love how this one has measurements etched on the container and is made of glass and wood! Oh and that lovely red top…it just seems so much more ‘real’ than the horrible plastic ones of today. White Elephant Vintage is selling it for $18 right now! Get it before it’s gone..

Cries of London Tin

Cries of London Tin

Ok ok calm down. I just couldn’t help but post another tin…it’s a cries tin for crying out loud! How cool is that? I will tell you how cool. Very. Again, great for serving and storing biscuits or anything else you choose to put in it, or just as a display piece. The design is very fun. The brilliant blue tin has several illustrations of different “cries” such as “Turnips and Carrots, Ho!” and “Hot Spiced Gingerbread!” The tin was made in England for Frears London Town Assorted Biscuits.

So there you have it.

Priced at $22 it is currently avail at White Elephant Vintage of course.

images courtesy of the respective etsy store mentioned

6 Responses

  1. Oooooooooooooo!!! I LOVE that Trafalgar Sq. biscuit tin. Perfect for all those high-sugar, processed-carb-laden impulse purchases!

    • LOL I love that tin so much – its kitschy and kewl. But a big fat NO to the high sugar goods! I am getting a little tubby around the middle!

  2. Haha, I love that nutritional poster! I could really use something like that. Every day at lunch I look at seamlessweb, and each day I am a little more confounded at the lack of healthy options.

  3. hey cravenmaven! Thankyou so so much for your super sweet comment on my blog today! I really appreciate it! You are too kind 🙂 Your blog is really gorgeous too! Lucy xx

Leave a Reply

