What’s cooking my *blogships?

I have a host of blogs that I read on a daily or weekly basis of which some of my favourites are listed on my blog roll. They vary from vintage housewares, to design to personal blogs. I find them all inspiring and thought provoking and occasionally tasty.

So I thought I would provide you dear readers, with a summary of some of the foodie based posts I enjoyed reading last week from some of my favourite bloggers.

Brinkley's Brunch

blogroll category: foodie
blog name/url: pork and chocolate
blogger: Sherry
post i loved: Brinkley’s Brunch

I think what made it for me was the wonderful post and description for the Eggs Benedict. After I read the post I immediately emailled my sister saying we need to make plans to hit up Brinkley’s. Per Sherry: The eggs benedict were great, with a thin and crunchy english muffin, perfectly poached eggs, thin slices of ham, roasted tomato, kale and a delicate hollandaise sauce served with a side of thick, oval sliced potatoes. Yum!

Herb Garden Kit

blogroll category: designy
blog name/url: hearblack
blogger: A lovely young couple recently married and living in Hawaii
post i loved: 03.20.10

Hearblack announced the opening of a new Etsy store called ‘hearblack market’! I was so excited to see what goods they would be selling and of course, was not disappointed. Handmade driftwood wreathes, postcards of shots Nate had made (perfect from framed kitchen art vignettes) and a herb garden kit for $5! Everyone who has, even so much as a windowsill should have a herb garden. There are few greater gratifications than eating and seasoning food for which you have nurtured the ingredients. The set includes: Basil, Dark Green Italian Parsley, Rosemary and Scarlet Carrot.

hot cross buns

blogroll category: fashiony
blog name/url: coquette and dove
blogger: The lovely Kate.
post i loved: { lessons I will never learn } lesson No.1…

Kate runs a fantabulous, droolworthy and witty blog called ‘Coquette and Dove‘. If you haven’t already got her on your google reader, then make haste! I predict that this blog is going to be huger than huge in 2010.. you heard it here first. So this past week, I had to have a good giggle as our dear Coquette & Dove learned a vital yet often overlooked life lesson. Don’t go shopping on an empty stomach. Trust me, the danger of this should be classified next to WMD’s and mum telling you to step away from the ‘hot stove’. I’ve now got into the practice of whipping up a quick omlette before a food shopping spree in order to avoid a spree that turns into a massacre…of cash that is. Especially if a certain Mr. Trader Joe is involved…So C&D’s shopping spree resulted in the following:

One dozen hot cross buns (3 down 9 to go!)
A Cadbury’s Mini Eggs Easter egg
A bag of bagels
A multipack bag of crisps
more Peanut butter
A huge tub of full fat yoghurt
And a bar of Cadbury’s Plentiful with roasted hazelnuts & honey roasted cashews!

Tut tut. That aside, it wasn’t THAT bad a spree…I am sure there is some calcium in those mini eggs…and peanut butter IS a good source of protein..and yoghurt..well…erm..hmm.. Anyways, it was a post that made me chuckle and I hope it makes you do likewise.

Smores tart

blogroll category: mags
blog name/url: dwell blog
blogger: Miyoko Ohtake
post i loved: Chelsea Jackson’s S’Mores Tart

Funnily enough, the main image from this blog post was the source of last week’s Unhappy Hipsters foodie joke. But all kidding aside, the post was about Pastry Chef Chelsea Jackson’s lovely looking (and tasting i’m sure), S’more tart. S’mores is a ‘flavour’ I am growing accustomed to in this country. It’s a little sweet though and I am going to hope that the tart has tempered the sweetness somewhat. The ingredients and instructions are listed in the post, and include Chelsea’s own recipe for chocolate ganache..yum! I’m adding this to my ‘must make’ list.

Majollica at POSH Chicago

blogroll category: vintage housewares
blog name/url: p.o.s.h chicago
blogger/owner: Jen
post/email/item i loved: Majolica abounds and The “Dish Ran Away with the Spoon Sale”!

I love love love the annual POSH Chicago sale. The items they sell are very nice vintage and vintage inspired housewares with next to no imperfections. Paired with fantastic customer service you can’t go wrong with this store! So last week I got an email that their annual sale will be titled ‘the dish ran away with the spoon’. Remember that from your childhood? I do; love it! There are some seriously good looking pieces of Majolica on sale, such as the pitcher above, which is only $28.90. I have been in love with Majolica ever since my addiction to the Antiques Roadshow developed..lol. So if you are in the mood for some flea market inspired houseware goods, check out the sale at POSH, but hurry it ends soon!

*blogships is a rip on an email I got that opened with ‘ what’s cooking my friendships?’

all images from the respective blogs mentioned

2 Responses

  1. Aww shucks, thanks so much for the lovely “blog-up”. And the kind attempt at playing down the processed food overload!! I’m 6 hot cross buns down now (and half an easter egg!), and I must confess I don’t feel the slightest bit guilty, they’re SO.DAMN.GOOD!!!

    • hahahaha – no guilt – i’ve been there…every week! It’s good to indulge from time to time, cake/buns/pie/any type of pudding is my weakness!

Leave a Reply

