Yum review: The Vanderbilt Brooklyn

Blistered Peppers and Pimento Salt
Blistered Peppers and Pimento Salt

Every once in a while it’s good to step out of your comfort zone and throw culinary caution to the wind. Last week I had one of those days. The above is a dish I enjoyed at The Vanderbilt, a restaurant and bar in Brooklyn NY. The decor was sufficiently stylish but the dishes interesting – especially the Blistered Shishito Peppers with pimenton salt . I honestly can say I didn’t know what to expect when I placed my order, but what I got looked like nothing I could’ve imagined.

When I saw the peppers I immediately feared a live action remake of that episode of the Simpsons wherein Homer entered a pepper eating contest, but much to my surprise the blistered peppers had a slightly sweet and mild taste similar to a banana pepper. The peppers were paired with pimento salt, a lovely deep reddish brown salt that had a distinct smokey chipotle flavour – together the taste was just phenomenal: crunchy, sweet, smokey and dark. I couldn’t describe it any clearer than that, it is truly a dish you have to experience for yourself.

Based on that dish alone I would reccomend The Vanderbilt for a stop in if you and your friends are peckish. No one was disappointed with their food or drink (did I mention they have scrumpy cider? My favourite way to drink such a beverage..). So if you get the chance check it out at 570 Vanderbilt Ave in Brooklyn!

image by the vanderbilt

8 Responses

  1. mmm those look delicious! I’ve been wanting to check this place out.

    • Totally worth it. They have scrumpy cider too which I don’t come across much but love. The atmosphere is great too.

  2. Cool, sounds like a nice place. Let me know if you ever go again. šŸ™‚

    See ya tomorrah!

  3. I’d handle that snack better if it were roasted red peppers. lol.

  4. Shame on you for creating another terrific post! Awesome stuff, keep up the good work. I see a lot of potential! I wonder if you are an active user with any social networking sites like Digg or Stumble Upon?

  5. Terrific work! This is the type of information that should be shared around the web. Shame on the search engines for not positioning this post higher!

Leave a Reply

