Family secrets in the kitchen..

Top Secret

Family secrets are nothing new. You always wondered why cousin Bob always looked more like his ‘big sister’ Susie than his ‘mum’; and then there are those 3 years where Uncle Joe mysteriously vanished only to be told he, ‘went on holiday’ everytime you inquired about his whereabouts. But who goes away on holiday for THREE YEARS, doesn’t send a postcard…and comes back lean and trim with a few dubious new tattoos??

Nevertheless, I’ve found that family secrets go deeper than the usual unexpected pregnancy or jail stint. My dears, family secrets seep into the kitchen. Yesh, ladies and gents..like the Colniel, Ronny McD and The Coca Cola family, families have secret recipes rattling around those there closets! Now, I would’ve thought that ‘family recipes’ would readily be shared amongst family members…but not always so. I was exposed to this roadblock recently when my sister went to visit my parents for a long weekend. I texted her asking her to ask mum to ‘pen the recipe for her yummy scones’. When my sister returned I received no recipe, no note, just a box of a dozen or so fresh baked scones. The omission of the recipe was no accident. I know my mother, if there is one thing she doesn’t forget it’s ways to feed anyone, especially her children (chalk it up to her Latin-Caribbean genes..). Recipes she most certainly doesn’t forget.

I have to admit it made me laugh heartily and the more I thought about it the more I realised that I never did get recipes for some of my mum’s other signature dishes. Nevertheless, having the craven little tongue I have, being able to decipher the contents of and replicate some of her best treats has been my forte. Making it my own recipes to keep secret. The only dish I regret not ever being able to make to her calibre is her Chicken Curry. Quite literally the best this side of Southeast Asia and the sole dish that would knock me off my ‘vegetarian pedestal’ if ever I encountered it again.

I’m off to make some scones!

Leave a Reply

