Mixed Berry Lavender Sugar Jam….put THAT on your toast and eat it!

I love a good dollop of Jam. Especially if it is on a piece of nice crunchy toasted whole wheat bread…ahhh. Bread with Jam and a cuppa tea was a snack STAPLE when growing up. I swear it has the power to turn any grotty rainy day into a bright sunshiny happiness..in your tummy at least.

I recently learned HOW to make jam, funnily enough it never dawned on me that this was something I could do myself. But thanks to the Janelle Bloom cookbook I got last summer, I learned that not only could I make it myself but it tastes much better than anything I could’ve purchased from the store. So using her recipes as a guideline I’ve experimented with flavours and present to you what I made this past weekend:

Mixed Berry Lavender Sugar jam!

Mixed Berries - Strawberries and Blueberries

I prefer to use strawberries and blueberries (500 grams worth) because, well I like them. However, you could use blackberries or whatever takes your fancy. Be sure to wash, hull and chop the strawberries. That white bit in the middle is always so bland..I can’t stand it.

Lavender Sugar

Get your Lavender Sugar! I make my own, by storing sugar cubes in an airtight container filled with lavender. The above is just for illustrative purposes, I prefer not to put the lavender in the jam itself. If your sugar is stored long enough it will absolutely be infused with the ‘taste’ and smell of lavender. To learn how to infuse sugars, see this post how-to on design*sponge. I am cutting back on sugar so only use about half a cup worth, but you can add more if you wish, up to about 1 cup.

Berry sugar mix

Put all the ingredients into a microwave safe bowl and microwave on HIGH for 4 minutes. Then, stir to dissolve the sugar, return the bowl to the microwave to ‘cook’ it for a further 12-15 minutes.
When you remove the bowl from the microwave it will be piping hot and hopefully a syrupy sort of concoction (don’t worry if its runny…it will mean your jam will be a bit runny..but thats ok!). Spoon the hot jam into hot sterilised jars* and seal.

Jammy Smear

Mmm, the jam can stay in the fridge up to 2 months…if it lasts that long (above, only a smear is left!). I find myself snacking on it at all hours. hehe. Experiment with fruits and flavours and let me know how it all works out!

*not sure how to sterilise a jar? Simple – boil them for several minutes – or immerse in hot water (be careful!!). Be sure to sterilise the lids and liners, as well. In both cases, use jars right away whilst hot and handle them with gloves or tongs.

all images by cravemaven using shakeitphoto for iphone

6 Responses

  1. i like these photos, a lot!

  2. This is very nice, thanks for the recipes and tips. You are quite the culinary lady. It seems so simple to make.

  3. Hi there I like your post

  4. […] you know I love a good cuppa from time to time, so I yelped with joy when I saw these spotty glass teacups. Adorable, stylish, the best […]

Leave a Reply

