Desperately seeking Tiffin..

I have wanted a tiffin box for quite a while now. Truth be told I love putting things in boxes. Seriously. The tupperware aisle at any given store gets me all abuzz. If I could I would have everything in boxes, (**rubs hands together manically**). My searches for the quintessential Tiffin box is due in part because I love to make my own lunch, and who wants to tote around a crusty old brown paper bag?!

At one point I almost caved and bought a bento box from Plastica instead:

Plastica Shop Bento Boxes

But I am not entirely keen on putting my food, hot and whatnot, directly into plastic. So the hunt continued. I toyed with the idea of buying a good ole stainless steel tiffin box from Amazon:

Amazon Tiffin Box set

But I just wasn’t ‘feeling’ it. Then this past week I saw a wonderful House Tour on Apartment Therapy. A home in Bangalore India, belonging to a gent named Karthik. And ‘lo and behold, I saw the Tiffin box of my dreams!

Karthik's Bangalore Tiffin Box

See it? Right there on the second shelf up and second box across. A lovely, vintage looking, cream coloured tiffin box. Can I locate one online? Not for the life of me!! I am going stir crazy…but have a call in to my friends from India to find out where I can pick up one for myself..let’s hope it all works out!

images courtesy of plastica, amazon and apartment therapy

3 Responses

  1. […] nice molding graced with a marble cooking island in front of it. It’s no secret that I like putting things in boxes, but this? Ahhh this makes me […]

  2. […] summer, and hello varied light meals! I think I am going to invest in a tiffin box so that I can go to the Monday office* and enjoy my vignetted meals in the warm summer […]

  3. […] love biscuit tins. I just plain love containers, but biscuit tins really take the…erm biscuit? This one has a great photo of trafalgar square […]

Leave a Reply

