When did Aprons become fashion..?

Polka dot Apron

I was strolling through anthropologie the other day when I saw a very kewl polka dot dress – only to realise that it was an apron! What the what?! So then I got to thinking..when did aprons become..fashion? What happened to the good ole glossy laminated aprons of yesteryear with recipes or bawdy cartoon drawings on them? Today’s apron looks like an outfit if paired with the right shoes and accessories.

The above creation is definitely an apron for that fancy dinner party – it’s called ‘The Lady’s Apron’ and is available at Anthropologie for $32.

Below is a great casual dark washed denim apron, which I think would be great for a bloke or the more rustic relaxed dinner party..maybe in the garden in summer?! It’s on sale at one of my favourite e-tailers, Toast. If you can get your hands on it the asking price is currently 37GBP but who know it might go lower. Check it here.

Toast - denim apron

images courtesy of anthropologie and toast

3 Responses

  1. LOL..What the what is right! That also looks like it could be one of those cutesy old fashioned bathing suits with the skirts. That’s what I would have thought.

  2. Oh, man, I was just making bread yesterday, and thinking how I needed an apron …

  3. I know right? I cannot tell you the amount of times I’ve had to throw a perfectly clean pair of jeans etc in the wash after defiling it with my non-apron-wearing cooking antics!

Leave a Reply

