Kitchen Envy: The Colourful Celeb Kitchen

Diane Keaton's Kitchen

I saw this kitchen about two years ago and it has never left my mind. I’m not one for a lot of colour, but this is colour done well and so commands respect. The style looks very Santa Fe inspired mixed with rustic charm. But when you look a bit deeper you will see the specific reasons why I love this kitchen:

-The industrial elements! I know I’ve said this before but I like what I like. To the left of the kitchen you can see some very industrial, commercial style refrigerators – they are very practical and spacious, ( I love to cook, and store what I cook), as well as provide a surprising contrast to the colourful bouquet that is popping all over the kitchen. Which takes me to..

– The use of colour. The bold primary colours work well together – and is presented well. The kitchen is MOSTLY white but the tile work on the partition coupled with the bright accessories makes this kitchen inviting and fun instead of stark.

– I am in love with that stove! I have no idea what it is but it does look vintage..Being silver, its less kitschy than many a colourful counterpart. It grounds the kitchen without being obnoxious, and its built in shelves make it super useful above and beyond just cooking.

– Finally, the comedic line that graces the arch is just priceless, (it reads: Home is a place where, when you knock on the door they have to let you in). A little witty, a little bit honest it gives a bit of insight into the inhabitants and makes you immediately feel at home.

Oh and if you are wondering whose kitchen it is, it’s the wonderful Diane Keaton’s.

images by architectural digest

One Response

  1. Wow..I love it! It’s very Diane Keatonish…white and steel, but then has these bright splashes of whimsy all over, much like her acting…has she ever not played the neurotic, reserved, worrying mom/woman who just needs to bust loose? lol. I like the colors all over, it’s so coordinated.

Leave a Reply

