Cobra Pate – no fear of venom!

Cobra Pate

I heard of Cobra Pate through the Brooklyn Home Companion. A blog authoured by my dear old friend Katie and her mate Liz.

While I am yet to try what I anticipate to be delicious yummy goodness, (Tomato, Basil AND Almond Pate – is it a dream mama?!), the credentials of this pate are reason alone to pick up a pot.

Reason #1 : The source of the wickedly good ingredients:

Reason #2: After you’re done, the packaging grows flowers!

Ok, well not literally…but the packaging *IS* completely biodegradable and compostable – say whaaat? Check it homes:

packaged in biodegradable and compostable containers made from sugarcane fiber left over after juice extraction. Normally, this residue is burned after pulping, thus creating air pollution. But the sugarcane fiber can be re-used, by being made into disposable products normally made from plastic or virgin paper. Containers are microwave and freezer safe; unbleached; fully compostable; and can handle hot liquids up to 200 Fahrenheit. Estimated home composting time: 2-4 months.”

Reason #3: It’s handmade in Brooklyn!

By Justin Bland of the Goddamn Cobras Collective and his compadres.

Reason #4: You don’t HAVE to pay ten bucks for it, you GET to pay ten bucks for it!

And really, there isn’t much BETTER you could do with a tenner in this economy! Think about it:
Support small brooklyn based business? CHECK
Aid the proliferation of Locavore-ism? CHECK
Stimulate your taste buds with some ‘real food’? CHECK!

Are you still sitting here?? Pick up a batch of either the Tomato, Basil and Almond or Maple, Lavender and Walnut pate at the Greenpoint Food Market or contact Justin for more info – justin@goddamncobras.com

images and facts from – brooklyn home companion

10 Responses

  1. Yes! Thanks for posting!

    The Greenpoint Food Market will reopen again the Sunday before Valentine’s Day.

    We’re adding another flavor…this time, an aphrodisiac. [Note: it will not be oysters. Ha.]

    • HAHA I hope it won’t be Oysters Kadles, Cobra pate is all Vegan! So genius!! I will try and swing by the food market and pick up a pot…Don’t know if Justin will remember me..

      xo

  2. oh cool, this information is really useful and definately is comment worthy! hehe. I’ll see if I can try to use some of this information for my own blog. Thanks!

  3. Hiya im new to this board i hope i will be able to help out and contribute here because iv learned a huge amount myself.

    Thanks

    Learn Violin

  4. I can’t figure out how to subscribe to the comments via my reader . I want to keep on top of this, how do I do that?

  5. May i repost this to my own weblog? I’m going to set you a back link. Let me know, many thanks!

  6. Am i able to repost this to my personal blog? I will drop you a back link. Let me know, thank you!

  7. Great blog, I have just bookmarked it 🙂

  8. Hi there! Can I reference some of the material here in this post if I reference you with a link back to your site?

Leave a Reply

