Yum Review – Sweet Melissa Patisserie Brooklyn NY

Sweet Melissa's Patisserie

I love a good ole Patisserie. Not least because I love pastries, tea, coffee and intimate chit chat. I can honestly say that some of my best ‘life’ conversations have been shared over a decadent pastry and a steamy cup of…something.
An old stable in my (small) book of places at which to indulge is Sweet Melissa’s in Cobble Hill Brooklyn. Located on 276 Court Street, the minute you step in you are transported off the main drag of people, crazed cars and dogs into an intimate home-like place with the smell of gastro-magic in the air. I am so pleased they expanded last year to make room for several more tables and thus more time to relax.

First off the staff are always very warm as well as the patrons – you are never rushed to leave and it is not strange to include the staff and other customers in ones conversations!

But the true delight are the sweet treats. Today I tried the ‘Sweet Almond Bread Pudding’ with a side of tangy raspberry compote. The perfect mix of crunchy crust topping, almonds kissed with powdered icing sugar and the shock of tangy compote. It was a treat to the palate. My mate ordered ‘Apple Pie’ and not since I was in the UK have I had the pleasure of seeing apple pie with a crumble topping! Done to perfection it was well worth the price.

My only regret is that they no longer had the Chocolate Praline Eclair [!!!] available…but that just means that a return trip must take place soon!

See menu’s at the Sweet Melissa’s website.

One Response

  1. We must set some time to go here and have one of our many deep conversations! Looks delish!

Leave a Reply

